Back to All Events

Luigi Nono Celebration

  • Edith Stein Schule Germany (map)

Wednesday, 10 August 2016 | 16:00 | Edith-Stein-Schule (Sporthalle)

Rückspiegel – Sieben Werke aus sieben Jahrzehnten: NONO

Luigi Nono: Polifonica – Monodia – Ritmica (1951)
(2 Performances + Lecture in English)


Tutors and Participants of the Darmstadt Summer Course
Ulrich Mosch (Lecture)


Since the course’s beginnings at Kranichstein Hunting Lodge in 1946, there have been major changes in the work of composition, as well as aesthetic views and the notion of what music actually is. These changes are reflected in the history of events at the course and in the accompanying concerts. In 2016, the concert series “Rückspiegel” [literally “rear-view mirror”] will reflect on seven decades of the Darmstadt Summer Course with both music and commentary. For each decade, one piece will be selected from the respective course programs. What is important is that this view of the past is today’s view: the series will focus on those aspects of the musical phenomena in the relevant periods which are central from today’s perspective.


Each of the seven concert lectures will open with a complete performance of a piece, followed by an explanatory commentary by Ulrich Mosch (University of Geneva) on the historical context, compositional technique and aesthetics, and finally a second performance of the entire piece. (Only Wolfgang Rihm’s string trio, on account of its 45-minute duration, will be played just once.)

For the listeners, the advantage of this format is that they will already have had a first aesthetic experience with the respective piece before the commentary, allowing them to connect it to what they have heard. The second listen will then profit both from the commentary and the first listen.


The works:
31 July 2016 Stefan Prins: Piano Hero
1 August 2016 Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 3
2 August 2016 John Cage: Concert for Piano and Orchestra (1958)
6 August 2016 Wolfgang Rihm: Musik für drei Streicher (only one performance due to its duration of 45 minutes)
7 August 2016 Helmut Lachenmann: Intérieur I
10 August 2016: Luigi Nono: Polifonica – Monodia – Ritmica
14 August 2016 Isabel Mundry: Traces des moments

Earlier Event: August 8
Cloud Polyphonies at Darmstadt
Later Event: August 12
Percussion Concepts at Darmstadt

Powered by Squarespace